Loving My Husband
Crystal Miller



What does “Loving my Husband” mean to me? 


To me it means making him a priority in my life.  It means thinking of him and his schedule, his needs, his weaknesses and strengths and how I can help be a loving wife and helpmeet to him in these areas.  It also means that I will think beyond basics and will seek to do things that I know will bless him and say loudly to him, “I love you”. 


One of the ways I figured out what kind of things made my husband feel loved was to read the book “The Five Languages of Love” by Gary Chapman.  This is a great book that shows the ways we respond to things that mean love to us.  Here is a basic run down of the book from the back cover:


“People express and receive love in different ways. Dr. Gary Chapman identifies these as the five languages of love;

1. Quality Time

2. Words Of Affirmation

3. Gifts

4. Acts Of Service

5. Physical Touch. 


He goes on to say, “If you express love in a way your spouse doesn’t understand, he or she won’t realize you’ve expressed your love at all.  The problem is that you’re speaking two different languages.”


Learning our love language also makes it easier to communicate to our husbands what makes us feel loved.  What is absolutely necessary to go along with this is to make sure our husbands never end up feeling like one more thing on our to-do list.  I try and strive to communicate to him just how important he is to me.  I am saddened when I talk with women whose husbands are such burdens to them. 


We are exhorted in the Scriptures to love our husbands and to be able to teach this to younger women (Titus 2:4).    I just want to encourage all of us to daily find ways to show our husbands how special they are and how much we love them. 


Would you like to purchase a copy of The Five Love Languages?





Back to:





© Crystal Miller, 2007,2008 and Beyond! All Rights Reserved
Do Not Copy from any page of this website without permission from the owner